Fun with Counting

Red Rocks 4I love doing learning activities at home with my kids and it seems lately they are really into counting (“I very love it Mom” says Ayla who always wants to count)!  Here are some of the ways we have been counting these past weeks.

1- Since we recently moved we thought it would be fun to count things in our new house: how many windows, doors, chairs, steps, etc.  This also works well for learning about the neighborhood.  How many blue houses are on our street?  How many houses have fences?

2- We visited Red Rocks and boy are there a lot of steps!  I realized it would be a long journey up when after two sets of stairs Ayla asked, “Mommy would you carry me?”  Isaiah and I decided to count how many individual steps there were on the way down. We got to 100 and he stopped, I kept counting to help him learn what numbers come next and for my own curiousity.  We counted 387 steps.  No wonder Ayla was tired!

3- Food is a great thing to count.  How many grapes do you have for snack today?  How many oranges should we buy at the store?  How many McDonald’s do we pass on the way to preschool?  How many bites of my chicken do I need to eat to get dessert is currently one of my children’s favorite questions.

4- We also like to count our toys!  How many cars does Isaiah have?  How many princess in our dolly tub?  How many dolly’s are wearing pink (this also helps with sorting)?  How many blocks does it take to make a castle?  Are their more zebras or cows in the animal bin?

5- One of the things we enjoy is doing a little calendar during the week… this leads to lots of math and counting!  How many days are in September?  How many days will Isaiah have preschool?  How many days until special visitors are coming to our house?  Are their more days in June or July?  The possibilities are endless!

I also just want to say that the great thing about counting is that it is so easy to do and it often leads to another question and another.  We do a lot of talking about more, less, and equal, as well as predicting and estimation.  It makes numbers more concrete for kids since numbers are so abstract.  There are also problems that come with it.  My kids are very into what is fair lately so if Ayla has more apple slices at breakfast, then that is not fair!  Not that MY kids would ever fight… just a thought.

Enjoy being creative and pass on any ideas you might have!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on September 10, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love it, Michelle! That is so awesome that they love to count so much! 🙂 Mine are obsessed with letters at the moment. I am constantly hearing, “What does ‘nose’ start with?” “What else starts with ‘n’?” Isn’t awesome how eager they are to learn?

    I’ve also made Bingo games for the kids. We have different boards that for upper case letters, lower case letters and numbers. They love to play, and of course, we always have to count to make sure that we have the same amount of rocks to cover our board!

    I hope your move went well and that you’re getting settled into your new routine. I’m going to try to call in a few weeks. It’s been so long since we’ve talked!

  2. Great stuff Michelle. I’m so glad our kids have you as their teacher, they’re very lucky!

Leave a Reply

