Muffin Tin Monday

muffin tinsIsaiah enjoying breakfastMy kids are good eaters.  There are not a lot of foods they do not like.  Isaiah calls himself the “meat man” since he loves to eat hamburgers with a side of nuggets.  Ayla is my fruit and veggie girl.  I find myself saying, “You need to eat some chicken before you can have more sugar snap peas (green beans, cherries, asparagus, peppers)”.  I am trying add more variety in the foods we eat.  I am such a plain eater, I thought Muffin Tin Monday would be a great way to add some new variety into their diet.  I would love to claim this idea as my own, but I saw it on another great website www.michellesjournalcorner.blogspot.com.  The basic idea is to serve all meals for the day in the muffin tins, sometimes incorporating a theme into them.  This was our first go of it and it was successful.  My kids for breakfast had a variety of items.  Yogurt, granola, cereal and fruit to mix together or eat plain.  I also put in a piece of pumpkin bread and butter (Ayla decided to eat the butter by itself, YUCK).  Isaiah liked it all but at them all separate, no big surprise there, Ayla mixed her granola and fruit into the yogurt.  For lunch we had nuggets with ranch and ketchup for dipping, carrots, grapes, and milk!  Both kids enjoyed it and begged to have Muffin Tin Tuesday.  Success.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on September 21, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great stuff Michelle. I just can’t believe I didn’t get muffin tin dinner on Monday!

  2. What a great idea!!!! I’d like to come for Muffin Tin Monday!

Leave a Reply

