Marriage

Trevor and I celebrated our ninth wedding anniversary this past July.  Nine years of being married, it hardly seems I am old enough for that!  The time has really gone fast.  I think back to my sophomore year of high school (yes, we were high school sweethearts) and how immature our relationship was and how it has grown over the years.  From him dumping me out of my sleeping back at a church lock-in, to now, having two children together and a deep bond that only comes from Christ.  I am blessed because I am married to a truly incredible guy.  He is a wonderful dad that makes it a priority to be with our kids, gives me back rubs, loves Christ and is passionate about following Him, and as my grandma would say, “You got the best.”  I agree.  I am thankful to be in life with him.  He has helped me to grow into the woman I am now, by challenging and praying for me.

One of the greatest gifts we can give our children is a strong marriage.  Making time to date each other, showing affection, and giving them a godly example of what marriage can and should look like.  This was extremely hard for me when we first had kids.  My life completely revolved around them, not leaving much time for Trevor or Christ.  As God has shaped me and changed me these past couple of years, I have let go of that lie that my whole life should be about my kids.  That is unhealthy.  I love being a mom and spending lots and lots of time with my kids, but I also look forward to going on a date with my wonderful husband!  Now if we can just find a babysitter…

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on September 24, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Pick us!! Pick us for ‘babysitting’!!!
    Oh wait, there’s the problem of living a thousand miles away.
    Sigh……..

  2. Love you babe, we need to date again soon!

Leave a Reply

