Being a Chameleon

One thing I love about kids is they don’t hide who they are.  If my children are happy, they want to dance to praise music and run around the living room without a care in the world, give loud kisses and tons of smiles.  When my children are upset at each other, they make sure the other one knows it.  Just today Ayla (if you can believe it) kept interrupting Isaiah, not giving him a chance to talk.  He got so frustrated he screamed, “I will never be your friend again, never!’  I think if it was an adult doing this to me I would think they were rude, and silently fume.  The next time I saw them I might remember again and try to pretend everything is fine, when I am still upset.  Put on a smile and try to get over it.  I am not suggesting as adults we should scream in anyones face, but why pretend we are okay?  Kids don’t do that.  I wonder when this changes for them…

Being real is a choice.  Not an easy one, but still we have the power to choose to share our true self and feelings with people or hide behind what we think they want us to be. I used to think I couldn’t be my real self with people, even my good friends.  If I wanted them to like me a had to mold myself into someone different, depending on who I was with.  God has changed that in me.  I asked that He would make me more authentic and He has, for that I am so thankful.  What I have feared about being real is the exact opposite of what actually is true.  I used to believe that if I was real and told my friends my struggles or doubts they would think bad of me, or judge me.  What I have found is that people love to be around real people.  No one is perfect.  I would guess most people don’t want to be around people that pretend to be someone they are not.  I strive live my life and truly share it with others.  It is not always easy, but there is so much richness in authenticity.  This is another way my kids challenge me, and I praise God for the opportunity to learn from them.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on September 30, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

