Sisters Weekend

One weekend each year my three sisters and I get together.  We have lots of fun and laughs revolving around shopping, puppy chow (so much goodness, thanks Val), The Melting Pot, memories, and this year spontaneity.

This year the destination was Chicago so Val drove up from Indiana and Jenny and I flew from Denver and Megan graciously hosted us for the weekend.  Friday Meg and Val picked us up from the airport, we headed over to Target to get the ingredients for puppy chow (our staple snack for sisters weekend), and kill some time before going to dinner.  Megan talked about how she wanted to get another tatoo, Val and Jenny agreed that they would consider it.  Before I knew it we were heading to the tatoo parlor.  Do you notice who is not agreeing?  Yes, to nobody’s surprise, I decided to sit this one out.  I was there for advice and moral support AKA hand squeezing.  Meg came prepared with her tatoo design (she carried it around for a year or so waiting for the right moment to get one and apparently this was it!).  Jenny knew what she wanted the word “believe” written artistically, while Val contemplated what she wanted.  The medical symbol for nurse, a cross, the word “sisters”.  So much to consider.

The problem with me getting a tatoo comes down to a couple of things.  One being I do not like pain.  Yes, I have given birth twice, but the watching my sisters go through this did not exactly entice me.  The second being a don’t know if I want something on me FOREVER.  I have heard so many stories about people regretting the tatoo they have, I do not want to be one of them.  The third reason is I truly had no idea what I would get.  What defines me?  I am a mother, sure that is a huge part of my life, but it does not encompass the whole of me.  I decided it would have to be something to do with following Christ.  I thought of several sayings I would like including :no regrets (something my husband and I love to say about following Christ to the fullest), love always (reminding me that I am always loved by Him as well as to encourage me to love others always), and redeemed.  Not that I am getting a tatoo anytime soon, but now I feel like I have some ideas of things I would use.  Now where would I put it….

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on October 5, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

