Prayer

I have always been a huge fan of praying.  In Philippians 4:6 the Bible tells us, “Do not worry about anything instead pray about everything.”  Everything.  This is a tall order for someone like me who tends to worry and forget to give things over to God.  If I stop and think about all the things I have going on and what I need to do and figure out, it is overwhelming.  So I am thankful to have a loving God who hears our needs and is faithful answer us.  Sometimes it is hard to wait.  Currently I am praying for wisdom for Isaiah and Ayla’s school for next year, people to live life with (as we had in Illinois), our neighborhood, wisdom with job/school for me next year, unity, the homeless who come to our church, etc.  No wonder we are to pray without ceasing, there is so much to pray for.

I think the hardest thing about prayer is when it is not answered in my timing or in the way I desire for it to be.  I have been praying a specific prayer for this year that has not been answered yet.  I have pleaded with God over this issue and He has not answered it. It is not my own request, but I have wept to God for this person and even now I write I am moved to tears in thinking God might not answer it in the way I desire.  But I cannot give up hope.  For I know that my God who loves me and my dear friend will be faithful.  It may not be in the way I desire but it will be the best.

What builds my faith in times when I doubt is to remember all the times He has answered my prayers.  Prayers for healthy children, people to come to know Christ, healing, wisdom, protection, etc.  God is faithful.  He is the God who loves us and will be faithful to us to the end, even if it means waiting a little bit longer to get our answer.

God I thank you that you are a God who loves us and has our best in mind.  Thank you for loving us and saving us.  Thank you for your conviction and truth and for your hand at work in us.  Please help us to be usable to you. Amen.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on October 20, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you for sharing this. I keep going back to it and it is helping me alot. Love you!

Leave a Reply

