School Searching

Today Ayla and I spend part of our morning together visiting an elementary school in the neighborhood.  In Colorado they have the choice program for schools so basically you can go to any school as long as there is room for your child.  It is great because if your home school is not all that impressive you can find another one that fits your needs.  It is tricky though since most of the “best” schools have long, long lists and only a few kids actually get in.  I have spent the last few weeks researching schools and it is not an easy task.  There are so many choices from Montessori, christian, public, charter, gifted… the list goes on.  I am truly seeking God and praying that Isaiah would get into the school that is right for him.  I am also busy visiting preschools and figuring that out for Ayla.  I have found some websites that are helpful my favorite is www.schooldigger.com it rates schools in your area on many different criteria.  It also gives you top ten schools and near you.   I think the best resource is actually visiting the school and getting a feel for how it is run.  Here are some questions I asked today as I toured the school:

What is the average year the teachers have been teaching?

What is the literacy and math curriculum?

Do you encourage parent involvement?

What junior high do they go to usually from here?

What is the class size and is there only one teacher?

What specials and extra curricular activities are available?

What are the school hours?

I am praying that God will allow me to trust Him with another thing that is out of my control.  I know that so much actually depends on the teacher and his or her passion and love for teaching.  Please let me know if you have any other ideas or thoughts.  Happy school hunting!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on October 23, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

