Mean Mommy

The other day Isaiah told me I was mean since I refused to let him wear short sleeves in 30 degree weather.  In years past I think, no I know, I would have cried and beaten myself up over it.  Thinking that I had failed him because he thought I was mean.  When he said that my reaction was, “No I am not.”  I  am so thankful for that.  God has changed me and allowed me to see myself as imperfect, yet His.  I think that is part of my struggle in parenting is that I love my kids so much and I truly want to do what they want, but I also have to do what is best for them at times, and they might not like it.  It is the hard thing in parenting that my role is not to be their best friend, but to love them even if that means disciplining or making choices that are not their favorites.  God loves us to and disciplines us too and I am even thankful that He does.  Even at times when I do not understand God, I know that He truly loves me and has my best in mind.  I pray that my kids will always have that understanding about us as parents, even if at times I am called a mean mommy.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on October 25, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. If you’re mean I don’t want to know what I am!

  2. Sorry, that last comment was me, I didn’t log Michelle out.

Leave a Reply

