Gratitude

I am struggling with my children’s constant draw to want more things.  I do not buy my children toys or presents anytime except birthdays and Christmas (they know if they want something another time, they can just ask their Grammy!).  Every time we are at Target, and we go there quite often, they want to go to the dolls and action figure isle  so they can tell me everything they want for Christmas.   Believe me they want everything.  I want them to be excited about new toys, that is fun for me to as their parent to get to buy them things, but I am struggling with how to keep Jesus’ birth first for them at Christmas.  We have our traditions of adopting a family for Christmas, going to church the night before, reading the Christmas story in the Bible, we have a kids nativity scene and talking a lot about why we even celebrate Christmas.  I know some families who make a birthday cake for baby Jesus.  It is convicting to me to even as I write this what I have been preparing and thinking about has been a cookie exchange, shopping for all the people I get to buy for, family coming, Christmas cards, etc.  I need my focus to be first on Him so my children can follow me in that.  Thanks Lord.  Any other suggestions you might have with the kids I would welcome, love to hear other ideas.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on November 6, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

