Letting them Learn

A few nights ago Isaiah confided to me that there is a kid bothering him at preschool.  This kid is attempting to hit him in the head with a long wooden block anytime he comes to the block center.  Fire welled up in me as he told me about this instance, I wanted to make that kid pay for picking on my kid (but then I would be the bully right?).  He cried in his soup as Trevor explained that part of life and growing up is dealing with hard things when they come up.  I asked him what he did and he told me he ran away and went somewhere else to play.  He even got out our blocks and reenacted the situation for me, him being the bully, and me being him.  Trevor told Isaiah, “I give you permission to tell him to leave you alone and that you don’t like him doing that.  Tell him to stop.”  Isaiah is the type of kid that if you tell him to do that he might actually whisper, “Please leave me alone.”  That night we prayed that the bully and Isaiah would become friends and that he would leave Isaiah alone the next day at school.  We also decided the next morning that I would have a chat with the teacher.  She was made aware of the situation and that gave Isaiah peace of mind, but not me.  As I left him at school that day, I felt tears in my eyes.  I had no idea how the day would go.  I wondered if he would be picked on, hurt, or scared.  I think this is one of the hardest things as parents, to not try to save our kids from every hard thing they go through.  I know it is good for them to go through these challenges as this is how they learn and grow, sometimes the process just hurts.  It must be like that with us and God.  We have these broken periods of life we have to go through, and He has to watch His children in pain.  Not an easy thing for any parent.  As an adult, I am thankful that I have times of growth, sure I wish I could learn the easy way, but I am not sure I would really learn any lesson if I was always “let off the hook” of dealing with things.  I praise God that Isaiah’s days at school have went well.  I am praying that God would continue to provide us with wisdom and that He would change Isaiah’s relationship with the new bully at school.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on November 11, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I agree that this is one of the most difficult things for a parent. When Isaiah first started telling us this my first instinct was to say he didn’t have to go to school, but then realized that wouldn’t really solve anything and it would teach him to not deal with problems. Excellent connection to us and God Michelle, doesn’t make the hard times easy, but can give us hope in them.

Leave a Reply

