Thanksgiving

I love the timing of Thanksgiving. Just when my kids need to be reminded of all the things we are thankful for, as they write their two hundred page wish list for Christmas.  We have been doing some fun activities with turkey and thanksgiving.  Here are some things we’ve been up to.

We made a list of all the things we are thankful for.  Isaiah’s began with most of his toys, then I encouraged him to think a little deeper, “Are there any people you are thankful for?”  Then he continued, “Mommy, Rigel, Asher, Ayla, God, Grandma and Grandpa, Papaw and Nana.”  We moved into food, “Pancakes with syrup, pumpkin bread, treats!”    It is interesting the things they mention.  Ayla began with people, “Mommy, Aunt Meg, Lydia, Nikayla, and I love my Grammy, my Grammy’s house and I am glad she doesn’t live too far away (actually she does).”  Then she heard some of Isaiah’s, “Eggs, princesses, books, the Bible, God.”  All in all I was pleased with their lists.  They could see some of the things they are truly thankful for.  We used the list to make Thanksgiving poems.  Thought you might want to hear how they turned out.

Isaiah:  “I’m thankful for God, my big car transporter, and pancakes with syrup.  I am really thankful for Rigel and Asher.  I’m thankful for my guitar.  But most of all I am thankful for Ayla.”

Ayla:  “I’m thankful for princesses, Nikayla and Lydia.  I am really thankful for eggs.  I’m thankful for everything in the whole wide world even God.  But most of all I am thankful for Giraffes and dancing.”

We also cut out things we are thankful for in magazines.  The kids enjoyed the activity “If I made Thanksgiving dinner.”  I had them cut items out from the many store ads we get and glue what they would want to a plate.  Isaiah had ham, turkey, and pumpkin pie.  Ayla’s was turkey, cupcakes, apples, milk, and bread.  They loved being in charge!

We have made several turkeys, with real feathers while tracing their hands, painting their palms brown and fingers colored, gluing beans and maccaroni noodles to a cutout of a turkey and reading lots and lots of books.

We are excited to help feed the homeless on Thanksgiving, and then share a nontraditional meal with friends!!  Happy Thanksgiving.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on November 15, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

