Another Baby?

No we are not pregnant.  However for the first time in about four and a half years I have thought about what it would be like to have another baby.  Someone to take care of, snuggle with, hold, change diapers, be up late with (although I do not miss that at all!), and just mother.  Isaiah will go to kindergarten next year and Ayla will go to preschool.  It is a hard realization that I am that old, but also how fast the time has gone.  My stay at home with my children days may soon be over as I prepare to go back to teaching within the next year or two.  I think that is part of why I began thinking about what it would be like to have another one (that and all my expecting friends!).  For me it is hard to have this chapter of life be coming to a close (yes, I know I still have some time, but it is coming quickly).  I have loved being home with Ayla and Isaiah.  Getting to be the one to get them breakfast in the morning and spend the day together playing.  Building forts, princess castles, dress up, crafts, cooking, walks, etc.  I enjoy taking them to dance, the library, the zoo, and other various activities.  Be the one who holds them when they are sick and disciplines them when they need it (a lot it seems these days).  Now someone else will be with them for a good part of the day.  I will truly miss them and this stage.  Like any stage of life, they all have endings.  I think, for me, the thought of another baby is partially not wanting to deal with this end and the new beginnings.  I am praying about what God has for our family in the future.  Another baby?  Doubtful.  Teaching, more school for me and my children?  Very likely.  I know kids are supposed to grow up, and four and three are hardly grown up, but for me this is hard as I seek to look to the future in a positive light.  Being thankful for the blessing of being the stay at home mom of two amazing children.  I pray that the bond we have developed over these past years will continue as we all deal with life changing and the great, wonderful, but hard things that come with it.  I love my Isaiah and Ayla more each day and continue to pray for wisdom and thank God for His many blessings!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on November 19, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Our kids are wonderfully blessed to have such a compassionate, patient, creative mom at home with them! I know our children have a solid foundation in faith, education, and life skills thanks to the job you have done and continue to do as their mother.

Leave a Reply

