Grandparents Day

Today was Grandparents Day at Isaiah’s preschool.  When I saw the note on the calendar, my first thought was sadness since we live very far away from all the grandparents. There was not enough time to notify anyone and ask them to fly out for this special occasion.  I can remember always having my grandparents coming with me to school, and it being a great time to show them all I can do and who my friends are.  Isaiah chose his Uncle Ryan to go.  Lately Isaiah has been all about his Uncle Ryan, wanting to always ride in his car, go to his house, skateboard with him, build with him etc. so having him go with him was a super special treat!  The kids treated their guests to a special assembly, playing on the playground outside, and ‘s and get a happy meal with eating bagel turkeys, it was truly a great day.  Isaiah was also excited because he even got to go to McDonald’s, get a happy meal, and have chocolate milk!  Thanks Ryan!  It made me feel so thankful as not only was Ryan willing to go and spend the morning with Isaiah, he also made it special by taking him out to lunch and just hanging out with him, what a nice uncle.  One thing I value is my kids having close relationships with their family members.  I grew up spending time with my grandparents, and all my aunts and uncles regularly.  Now living so far away it is hard not to miss that and desire that for my children.  Having Uncle Ryan (and the rest of the family) close to us is a blessing, not just for our kids but for us as well.  Even though we live far from most other family, I feel thankful that God has allowed us to have some family close by.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on November 24, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

