In Charge

Isaiah and Ayla love to play school.  We have a calendar set up that we do most days and a pocket chart for rhyming and reading practice.  For Christmas I gave the kids and overhead projector (totally old-school, my husband tried talking me out of it…where would we put it?).  I got it from our church, they were getting rid of it, can you believe it?!  The kids have totally loved playing on it.  We began by writing words and letters (Ayla taught us how to scribble!).  Then I found some old overhead shapes and money that they played school with.  I am not sure if they still sell these somewhere, but I highly recommend it.  They have made pictures from the shapes, sorted money, learned about parts of a whole from the circle and just had a lot of fun being in charge.  They even got creative and we played a shadow game with different objects.  We put on four pieces of fake food from our little kitchen and then have to guess what each shadow was.  Pretty hard some of them but very fun.  We also did this with Ayla’s princess Barbies, that was a real challenge (they don’t look to different in the shadows, hmm).  Anyway lots of fun!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on January 6, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

