Prayer

Something I feel strongly about as a Christian woman is prayer.  Since our children were born, my husband and I have prayed with them each night, modeling the example of what prayer is and why we pray.  Our kids have memorized the Lord’s Prayer and pray each night, throughout the day, and before meals.  Somehow, though, they got into a rut of prayer.  Their prayers all began to sound the same, always praying about the same things.  Isaiah’s, “God help us to have good dreams and no bad dreams and a good night of rest Amen.”  Each night the same prayer.  I didn’t want prayer to be a scripted thing for them, that they rattled off without thought, but I was stuck on how to really engage them on this topic.  One day we decided to cut stuff out of magazines that we were thankful to God for.  They cut out anything from gum to toys to houses and food.  We put this on the back of their door so that each night they can look at what to pray about.   Prayer is just talking to God, so tell Him whatever you want, my husband and I have encouraged.  We then decided to make a requests page and put a picture of our family, friends, extended family, church family, neighborhood, etc.  on that paper.  Each night the kids get ideas off the page on whom to pray for as well.  It has helped some to broaden their prayers.  We have also done dancing prayers or praise to God, prayers for specific people, friend prayers, sorry prayers, and BIG prayers.  I love hearing what God puts on their hearts.  Last night Ayla prayed she could make new friends in her ballet class and Isaiah prayed for even more friends at preschool.  One thing I love about them is their faith.  They believe with all their hearts that God will answer their prayers, and He does.  Their faith is powerful and very convicting to me to not only pray, but to truly have faith that God will answer my prayers.  Prayer is important.  It is part of our walk with Christ that is vital in growing closer to Him.  I would love to hear any of your ideas on prayer with kids!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on January 7, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Michelle,
    I absolutely LOVE your blog! I haven’t been on in awhile, and I have some catching up to do. 🙂 You have such creative ideas and I love seeing all the ways that God has blessed you, Trevor and the kids. I hope you guys are doing well!
    Kelly

  2. I have to say the dancing/praise nights are my favorite. I know it’s important to teach our kids reverence for God, but letting them cut loose and dance while praying is an important aspect for them to learn and enjoy too.

Leave a Reply

