Cookbook

My kids love to help me cook (especially Ayla).  It is something about being in the kitchen and making a mess (yes, I am a messy cook) that enjoy.  I LOVE to have their help.  It is so much fun for me, but also they end up being excited to eat our dinner because they helped!  I decided to make a cookbook for them for when they leave the house, go to college, get married, etc.  I used two three ring binders I had from teaching, cleaned them up and added some clear sheets into them.  I put dividers and labeled different sections bread, main dish, soup, salad, dessert, and holiday traditions.  I hand wrote the recipe on a card for them and used double-sided tape to stick it to a sheet of white paper, along with a picture of them helping me make the recipe.  It is obviously a work in progress, and I have to actually remember while I am cooking to take their pictures, but I think it will be a great present to them someday!  I think there are a lot of variations you could do on this, making it into a scrapbook (I love scrapbooking, but taking on two more was not doable for me right now) or typing the recipes out, whatever works for you.  I showed the kids the few pages I have done for each of them and they asked if they could decorate the binder.  I pulled out some various cooking stickers along with ABC stickers for their names and let them be creative!  I think this will be a great keepsake for them someday, if I can actually part with them!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on January 9, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

