Creating a New Holiday

After all the excitement for my kids with Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, and then New Years, my kids were wondering what holiday is next?  Now I am ALL for teaching kids about important holidays and their meanings, but I thought it would be fun to celebrate some other unusual holidays.  I googled “unusual holidays” and came up with some exciting ones in January.

14th dress up your pet day

17th Kid inventors day

23rd National pie day

24th Belly Laugh day

25th Opposite day

27th Chocolate cake day

31st Inspire your heart with art day

These are just a few that caught my eye from this month, there are several more on the sights www.holidayinsights.com/moreholidays/index.htm and www.brownielocks.com/month2.html .  My family decided to make up our own holiday we made up National Dance Day.  We had a dance contest, each member of our family performed to a song of their choice.  Isaiah mostly did breakdance moves while Ayla made us all dizzy with her spinning.  Even my husband got into it and did the kids favorite booty shake!  We had a lot of laughs and I gave our kids an award for winning the dance contest, lots of fun.  Happy creating!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on January 13, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What a great idea! I still say I won the dance competition. I was robbed!

Leave a Reply

