Taking Care of Yourself

Sometimes as moms we neglect ourselves, I know I do.  Dying to yourself is just part of being a good parent, kids before self, as a lot of parents do.  I also think I took it to an extreme.  I wouldn’t take a shower some days because I don’t want to miss even 10 minutes with my kids, let them eat my food, and pretty much control how the day is spent… seriously?  That was way too crazy.  Now that my kids are older, and with the help of God, I have overcome the guilt of trying to be with my kids 24/7 and doing always what is best for them.  Sometimes it is okay, and even good, for a mom to put herself first.  With my kids getting ready to go to school (both) next year I have been thinking about ways I can take care of myself and even who I am and what I want.  Here are somethings I came up with.

* Having a girls/moms night out.  My friends and I do this at least once a month and it is quite valuable.  Realizing other moms are struggling in the same ways I am, laughing, and just catching up!

* Exercising and eating well. I actually do enjoy working out.  It makes me feel strong, healthy and gives me energy for the rest of the day.  Eating right is a great way to set an example for my kids too.  Most of the time I skip Starbucks or cake for breakfast because I don’t want them to have them.

* Taking time for yourself.  For me this is usually scrapbooking.  One of my good friends does one night a week for herself, one day a month, as well as one weekend away each year!  I love that.

* Getting ready. I joke with my husband in the winter which pair of sweatpants will you find me in when you come home today?  It is quite fun to be comfy, but also I do enjoy dressing up and actually doing my hair for myself as well as for my husband.  Taking 5-10 extra minutes for yourself shouldn’t bring on guilt (like it used to me).

Just some ideas to get started.  Please, please pray against guilt.  There would have been a time in my life I would have seriously shunned the idea of doing anything for myself.  If we neglect ourselves for too long, how can we truly show our children who we are and healthy, happy, and balanced!?

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on January 28, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

