Valentine’s Day

We celebrated Valentine’s Day today!  It truly was a great day.  Once you have kids, Valentine’s Day becomes somewhat about them too, since I deeply love my children.  We woke up this morning and made waffles and sausage, which was a special breakfast, and even more, since the kids has whipped cream and fruit as topping instead of the regular syrup.

I wanted to start the day off in a fun way so next we did a couple of games.  The first game was one I found on-line.  Bascially I got seven small presents from around our house and wrapped them up in crate paper, until it was one big ball of crate paper.  I told the kids to unwrap the ball and see what they could find.  So much fun!  Isaiah and Ayla were so excited about each item they found, and before I knew it, our house was covered with crate paper.  When we cleaned that up we played a scavenger hunt where the kids had to find ten hearts I hid around the house for them.  Each heart had a “coupon” written on it.  They collected them and can turn in the hearts for whatever the coupon says.  They had fun hunting around the house for them, and then finding out what was written on it.

We also made cut out cookies for the kids Sunday School teachers.  Ayla helped me roll and cut them out, but I think decorating them was the favorite, aside from eating the cookies of course.  The used a variety of items to decorate, it was a huge mess, but a lot of fun too.   We made scented Valentine’s cards for their Sunday School teachers as well.  We made a heart out of glue on the paper and then the kids dumped (not sprinkled, dumped) a cherry packet of jello on top of the glue.  Very quick and easy.

I got to be in charge of games for Isaiah’s preschool party, so a couple other ideas would be to use the conversation hearts, jumbo ones work better, and see who can build the tallest tower.  I also played hot potato with the kids by passing around a big box wrapped in Valentines paper and when the music stopped they got to open the box.  When they opened it they found a smaller box, wrapped as well.  There were about eight boxes so we got to play many rounds of hot potato, and at the end, one girl got a small sheet of stickers.

We told the kids they could pick one adventure to go on today, and they picked bowling!  So we are off in just a few minutes to do that as well, making lots of memories today.  After that my husband and I are off on our date!  Have a great Valentine’s Day and have fun celebrating your family.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on February 13, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You made it a great day for the kids and for me! You are so creative and we all benefit from that. I hope you felt loved too as you are an amazing mom and wife.

  2. Sounds like you had a great Valentine’s Day!!! The cookies looked great! The kids did a great job on them!!

Leave a Reply

