Memory Journals

I swore that I would never forget certain things about my children.  How much they weighed or if they liked to be held to go to sleep or prefered to be swaddled tightly and put down.  Call it old age, but I have forgotten some of the things I swore I would never.  Was it Isaiah who didn’t like yogurt or was that Ayla?  To help me keep track I began a memory journal for each of my kids.  I write a variety of things including funny things they say, stories, letters to them from me, and other things that I don’t ever want to forget.  I started this for each of them when they were born and have continued to write in it.  My goal is once weekly, monthly at the least, but it is amazing how quickly the time goes and how often I forget.  To help myself remember, I usually put a draft of whatever happens in my phone and then transfer it to the notebook at night, this has helped a lot.  Both the kids and I love to read through the various stories about them, and remember what they were like at each stage.  It even helps me when I scrapbook, since I am about a year behind!  I read the other night how Isaiah loved to play the recorder so much when he was about two years old and one night he woke up and called for us to come to his room.  He is usually a great sleeper so we went in and he just wanted to play mimi (or music).  Too cute to forget!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on February 24, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great for you and them! You will be so happy you did this. I regret not doing that kind of thing. I think I have better journals of our grandchildren than of our children so kudos to you for being so proactive! Grateful for you, Twyla

Leave a Reply

