The Lord’s Prayer

My husband is teaching on the Lord’s prayer these next few weeks and it has been hugely challenging for me.  The part that is the hardest is “Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.”  YIKES.  Don’t get me wrong I am completely for holy things happening and even sacrificing some, but one thing I never want to sacrifice on is my kids.  I want to give them the best of the best (or at least the best I can afford).  I feel like God is possibly going to call us to live near our church, in the neighborhood where we can really truly have an impact on the people we are ministering to.  The church is not exactly in a desired location, some would consider it dangerous, and it is nothing like I had pictured for my future.  Did you notice how I said “I” pictured?  That is the funny thing with following Christ, we die to ourselves and He know what is best for us, even if it doesn’t seem like it.  I didn’t want to write this blog because it seems more real that we might actually do this if I write it down.  I also know how amazingly faithful God is.  Why would I not want His will?  He knows what I need to learn and grow much better than I do.  So many things He has called us to do that I personally never thought I’d do.  Move to Denver?  Plant a church?  Live in the ghetto?  I am really praying and seeking to trust God and His faithfulness to me.  The things I never wanted to do before turned out to be just the things I needed to grow closer to Him.  I have to remember that God loves my children more than I do.  He knows us and loves us.  LIke my husband said last night, Do we really want our kids to live comfortable lives that are not very rich or deep?  No, we want to allow them the opportunity to grow and be exactly who I’ve been praying they would become.  “No regrets” has been our motto, and it will continue.  Live daringly and faithfully to Christ.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on March 11, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks for writing honestly about this Michelle. I hit you back with my thoughts on the topic at http://trevorlee.us.

  2. Thank you for that, very well put! What a blessing you are.

  1. Pingback: Giving Up « Trevor Lee

Leave a Reply

