Missing My Kids

Is it weird to say that as a stay at home mom I miss my kids?  Spring break was such a great time of Isaiah’s birthday, Easter preparations and celebrations, time with family and friends, and lots and lots of playing!  Now that preschool is back in session, I find myself missing my kids.  Isaiah was at school yesterday, and Ayla and I went to CBS.  I missed most of the morning with them and cherished the time together in the afternoon.  It makes me look forward to the summer and feel sad about next school year.  THREE days a week I will be without any kids in the morning (I am sure some of you moms who are in the very needy stage still might be thinking I am crazy…FREEDOM!)  and I won’t get much time with Isaiah, as school ends at 3:00.  Sad.  Anyway, I think it is a great way to be reminded how much a adore my children and enjoy the time with them.  Both of them are amazing children of God.  Here are some great things I see in them.

Isaiah:  He is very into worship.  From belting it out in his room to singing it as he plays Legos, he loves to praise God and I love that.  I pray that won’t change.  He also is very creative.  His Lego building is way, way, way better than mine.  He is super creative and thinks of ways to put them together that I would have never thought of!  His smarts.  He recently learned how to count to 100, so day in and out he is constantly counting.  It is more than that though.  He is constantly questioning things now with words he is unfamiliar with, how big certain numbers are, money, and thanks to his Aunt Meg, why is Pluto no longer a planet.  I love his fire for learning.

Ayla:  Her prayers blow me away.  She really has a heart for people and loves Jesus!  If I bump my elbow, or loose my car keys, she always goes straight to God to pray.  I love her faith and compassion for the people she prays for.  My daughter is a lover!  She is very touchy and always hugging me, sometimes even more than I can appreciate, but she is super caring and loving.  She told her brother today that she’d share her treat with him to make him feel better since he was feeling sad.  This might not seem like a big deal, but my kids only get one small treat a day and she is actually offering to share hers with him!  That is huge in her world as she loves treats, just like her Mommy.

I am thankful God allowed us to spend extra time together and thankful that He reminded me of what amazing blessing they are!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on April 7, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

