Letter of the Week

To ensure my daughter knows all her letters by next fall, I began doing a letter of the week with her.  I do a few basic things each week.

1. Make a cardboard letter out of a cereal or cracker box.  Then make the letter into something.  Last week it was Dd, so we made it into a duck. This idea I got from http://www.notimeforflashcards.com.  It is a great learning website that I recently came across.

2. We have a guessing jar I fill with items that begin with the letter of the week, mixing a little math in!  This week we have dimes, dolls, dinosaurs, and dominos.

3.  Practice writing the letter.  We have done this several ways, sand or salt-box, shaving cream or pudding, wipe board or chalkboard, bath tub crayons, etc.

Those are the main things we have been doing.  I think it would also be fun to do a poem about each letter or a homemade book.  You could also do a letter hunt with books or around the house.  Also brainstorming all the words you can think of that begin with the letter and drawing a picture of them along with the word could be helpful.   Happy learning and playing!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on April 12, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

