Mom’s Background Check

I am blown away that my son is actually of the age where he can go on playdates without me.  How is this possible?  I haven’t actually taken the leap and allowed him to go yet, partially because he didn’t want to, but also because I am so not comfortable with this.  Since Isaiah has started preschool, we have been invited to a few people’s houses for playdates.  At first Isaiah didn’t want to go so I had an excuse as to why he couldn’t.  Now he feels comfortable with some of the other families, and is confident enough to go.  The thought of him going without me is scary.  I won’t know what is going on, what they play with, how the mom might discipline her kids, what he will eat, watch, etc.  It basically boils down to control for me.  I am a control freak.  I like to be in control and know what is going on, have a plan…The things I have actually thought about are:  How do I feel about another adult driving my child around?  Do they speed (as if I don’t) or text? Do they let their kids watch a lot of TV?  What shows do they watch? Will my child have fun there?  I do not know most of these moms very well at all, maybe I should do a background check on them?  Seriously the thought has entered my mind.  So crazy!  Anyway, Isaiah now will say, “I used to not want to go over to _______ house without you, but now I can!”  Great.  I am struggling with how much is pure lunatic in me and how much of my fears are valid if I do not know the parents.  Something I will be praying about and growing with.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on April 13, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is a tough issue! I guess this is why it’s important for us to do all we can to befriend the other parents. The more we know each other the easier it will be for all of us to pass the kids around!

Leave a Reply

