Not the Easy Way Out

So hard.  My kids began swim lessons on Monday and boy were they excited.  We pumped them up by talking about the new suits they would get to wear, and how the would be able to swim in Grammy’s pool without help this summer, etc.  It started off well and the kids were excited to go.  They had their goggles, new suits, and Ayla even had her swim cap on.  So cute.  As they began the kids were smiling, then Ayla began to cry…and cry…and cry.  She cried for about 5-10 minutes off and on.  I kept pacing.  Should I go in and “rescue” her?  I asked another worker there what the swim instructors prefered for us to do.  She assured me whatever I wanted to do was fine.  The thing is, I knew that if I went in, swim lessons would be over for her.  She would learn the next week that I would come and rescue her.  I wanted her to continue with the lessons (one reason being we had already paid, but also I really think these are important skills to learn).  So I paced and prayed and waited.  She stopped crying and even at the end she had a smile on her face!  The kids were excited to talk about all the things they had done.  That night Ayla cried to me, “I think I don’t want to go back to swim lessons.”  I told her we’d discuss it later since it was not until the next week.  I am dreading Monday.  Please pray for her and for me to do what is right, and best for her.  I am not strong and I do not want to cave and do what seems easiest at the time.  It is hard to be a parent and allow your kids to do things that are hard for them, I know this is only the beginning.  I just know that I need to keep praying and trusting God with His wisdom and ability to be the mom Isaiah and Ayla need me to be.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on April 23, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

