Morning Message

When I taught Kindergarten, I used to do a morning message for my kids to let them know about the day.  It was a great way to practice reading, letters, counting words, etc.  I have been striving to do this with my kids a couple times a week.  They have been most receptive!  Here is how to do your own.

1. Get a large piece of paper and write out a message that you’d like to tell your kids.  Mine are usually about the day and I seek to incorporate as many words with the letter of the week in it for my daughter or new sight words for my son.

2. Have your child read whatever they can of the message.  We like to use fun pointers, like magic wands or swords.

3.  We usually go through and count how many total words are in the message, circle how many words my son can read, and count those.  You can circle in markers, or if you are using a wipe board wikki sticks work well too.

4. We also circle or underline all the letters of the week we can find, and count those.

5. As the kids get older you can have a different teaching point, or focus.  My son is great at stretching his sounds to learn unknown words, but next I think we will talk about punctuation a little more.

I have a spot in our playroom for our kids to go and read them again and again if they want.  I am making them into a big book.

Happy learning and growing!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on May 12, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

