Cookie Shop

Here is a great way to teach kids about money and do some creative playing.  We have also done this with a pizza shop.  My son’s favorite part is getting the “real” money.  He understands much more than my daughter does about money.

We used play doh to make cookies, set up a price list and designated one person to be the customer.  My son had fun counting out the money, and getting tips!  We set out a money jar and had the customer give the money and the cashier provide the change.  We talked about the names of the coins and how much they were worth.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on June 6, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think “I Love You Cookies” is a brilliant name for a coffee shop!

  2. Oops, I mean cookie shop! You can tell what’s on my mind this morning.

Leave a Reply

