Identity Crisis

The last five years of my life have been amazing.  Getting to be a Mom is truly a blessing from God.  I have enjoyed staying home with my kids and being with them.  I have never been the type of Mom who has a perfectly clean house, instead my house might be a little messy, but my kids are well played with!  I have spent 90% of my time at home with them with them, doing puzzles, games, books, learning activities, crafts, etc. and it has been great.

Recently my kids have started having time by themselves.  They will go into their room and shut, sometimes even lock, the doors saying they need privacy.  So I am left alone.  When my kids were young I craved alone time.  I never even went to the bathroom without one of my kids, and showering had to be done at night after they were in bed.  Now it is the complete opposite.  I suggest games, activities and thing to do but they want to be with each other.

I praise God He has given them a close bond and they love playing together (usually).  However now with this independence and them both being in school part-time this year, I feel this huge shift, and it is hard.  It is not that I don’t have things to do, there is always cleaning, laundry, etc. It is more that I am grieving that stage of life being over.  I don’t get to play with them all day, they don’t need or want me to do that.  As my kids grow, I pray that I will be able to adjust and grow with them.  It is hard right now and I am praying that God will use this to transform me even more and bring me closer to Him.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on July 19, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

