Kindergarten Countdown

To get my son (and myself) ready for kindergarten we decided to do a countdown a month before it started.  I had several ideas of how to do this but I settled on a homemade calendar with post it notes he could pull off each day.  You could also make a chain, wipe off board, use note cards on a ring, etc.

The calendar has the numbers counting down from 30 and the sticky note have the fun activity for the day, as well as something we are working on.  Yesterday was a play date with the preschool class, and working on tying his shoes.  Today was making goop and him reading a book to me.  Tomorrow he gets to choose a park and we are working on measuring.  I also included somethings I needed to get done like school supply shopping and making a gift for his new teacher.  This was very quick to make and he loves to pull it off each morning and read what it says.  My daughter is looking forward to her preschool one!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on July 20, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

