Out of the Overflow of the Heart

I am always trying to do creative things with my kids to teach them to be like Jesus.  I am all for memorizing scripture and knowing Bible stories, but what I pray for my kids is that they would be like Christ.  We used the verse Matthew 12:34, “Out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks.”

We did a couple of activities.  I asked my kids what they thought this verse meant, they weren’t sure so we did an experiment.  We took two jars, in one we but sweet, likable things like Mt. Dew (first time and boy were my kids excited!), honey, strawberries, etc.  In the other jar we put not so nice or ugly things like vinegar, oil, garlic, etc.  The kids they chose which jar they wanted to drink.  We then talked about how what is in your heart is what comes out in your words.  If you have a kind or pretty heart like the Mt. Dew jar then you with praise God by encouraging people, sharing, speaking in a kind voice, etc.  If you are like the vinegar jar then what is in your heart is ugliness, and it will come out with being rude to others, yelling, etc.  Then we drank the sweet jar.  I was surprised how quickly my kids got this.  Now when we say the verse, they understand what I am asking of them.

The other activity we did was mix shaving cream with food coloring and painting hearts on the window.  I wrote the verse and they used a stencil I made out of paper to make hearts.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on July 27, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So glad you’ve been focusing on doing this kind of stuff lately hon, it is so important!

Leave a Reply

