First Day of Kindergarten

As a teacher I always looked forward to the first day of school, so much excitement, and a few tears from, in my mind then, crazy parents.  I wasn’t sure why they were crying.  I knew I was going to love them well and take great care of them so why all the drama?  Now I am on the other side and one of those over emotional parents.  How is it possible that he is already going to kindergarten?  The time has flown by.  It is a cliché, but so true.  One minute I am watching him learn to walk and the next he is off to school.

I take comfort in the fact that I have made the most of my time with my kids.  I am so thankful to get to be home with them, that I didn’t want to waste any time with them.  And I didn’t.   I am one of those moms that ALWAYS plays with her kids.  This is not a healthy balance, as there is laundry and cleaning, but I love playing with them and creating activities, games, and crafts for us to do.  So I do feel like I made the most of my time with them…but was it enough?  Never enough time.

I have been a weepy mess the last few days, wondering how other moms got through this.  As the first day of school began to draw closer, I felt panicky and I would do anything to stop time.  It hurts and it is hard.  I trying to take comfort in knowing that God loves Isaiah dearly, and he belongs to Him.  As we prayed for him this morning it was all I could do to hold back tears.  It is not easy.  I know it will get easier, and I am so thankful that Isaiah had a wonderful day and was excited to go.  It would have been so much harder if he were upset too.  Here is a look at the first day.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on August 18, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oh Michelle, I’m so in the same boat right now! Addi starts on Tuesday, and I’ve been weepy on and off for a couple of weeks now. I’m trying to take comfort in knowing that God loves Addi as well and is taking care of her too. I’ll be praying for you, as you’re experiencing this a few days before me. Pray for me on Tuesday, if you think of it! 🙂

  2. Kelly,
    I will pray for you! Such a great but challenging phase of life. God is faithful:)

  3. Just read this now, but you are handling it well. I’ve been a little sad and it doesn’t even effect how much I get to see him! Crazy that we have kids that will both be in school soon. How do we stop the clock on life?

  4. That last comment was my husband! WHOOPS:)

Leave a Reply

