Who Loves You?

When I picked up Ayla at school the other day I could tell something was wrong. She wasn’t smiling or running to me, she just walked over very somber.  She wasn’t ready to talk right away, but on the way home it came out that someone hurt her while cleaning up the blocks.  She is sure the boy did it to be mean, and it really hurt her feelings.  My blood is boiling with the thought of someone actually hurting her.  We talked about how to get help in that situation, and she knew what to do, but in the moment, didn’t do it. She forgot.

Later that evening she told me her “friend” made fun of her coloring and told her she scribbles.  AGGGHHHH!  I wanted to yell and scream and find that girl.  Instead I asked her what she did.  She answered, “I knew Jesus would want me to be kind back, so I didn’t do anything mean to her.”  WOW.  I love it when my children teach me lessons.

In light of this rough week with school, I wanted to remind her about all the people who love her and what we love about her.  We used two pieces of paper and made one a list called Who loves You?  The other sheet was all the things that are great about her.  We have it hanging in her room.  I am praying that God will give her a good friend that she can play with and grow with, seeking to trust Him with her.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on September 23, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow, we’ve been dealing with very similar issues with Addi. Isn’t it so hard when you can’t be there to help them?! Great idea to write down everyone who loves them – I think that would be a great thing for Addi! Praying for you and your kids, Michelle. You’re a great mom, and God will provide! 🙂

  2. Kelly,
    You are so great! Thanks for those words of encouragement, it means a lot. I am praying for your family as well. It is so hard to give my children over to God and let Him take care of them, praying He will enable me to do it!

Leave a Reply

