Living With Intention

My husband did a great sermon last week on living with intention, as he finished the book of Nehemiah.  I find this a challenge not only with my faith but also in life, as I become lazy and complacent.  Here is what living with intention means to me.

1. Making my time with my family meaningful.  Interacting with my kids and being intentional in what we are doing and what I am teaching them.  Not just hanging out and playing all day (although we do that a lot), but also being intentional in things I want to do with them.   It might be something to play or a learning activity, but seeking to be intentional in our interaction.

2. This also goes with parenting them.  It is easy for me to get lazy in my parenting (partially because my kids are so great!).  I am seeking to become more intentional with how I disciple them, full of grace and instructing and explaining.

3. Spending time with my husband.  We have had a goal to try to go on a date twice a month…that hasn’t been happening lately, mostly because we have gotten busy and let it slide.  Even once every two months has been hard lately.  Sometimes we have to get creative with having a coffee date while the kids are in school or going out after our kids are in bed, but it is a very important thing for us.

4. Being with God.  Getting up early to pray and read my Bible, not out of duty, but because I want to live intentionally with God.  I want to seek Him in the morning and make that a priority.

What are some ways you live with intention?

 

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on March 29, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’ve been thinking about this quite a bit. Here are a few for me.

    1. Doing the things I feel called to. In work it’s easy to let little “emergencies” crowd out the stuff I know I should be doing. I need to be intentional about staying on track.

    2. The same as yours–time with the kids, with you, parenting, and growing closer to God.

Leave a Reply

