Daily Learning

My daughter has always been one that doesn’t want to sit down and have me teach her.  If there is a way I can work it into everyday life it is much better for both of us!  Here are some ideas to incorporate learning into everyday life.

* Have them help you cook.  This helps with fine motor, number recognition, reading, etc.  My daughter loves to push the buttons on the microwave, she sees the numbers.  Also I have her tell me how many bananas go into the muffins and show her the recipe.

* Games: Since my son loves games this is a great one to do.  Candy land helps with colors, Uno is great for colors and numbers, Blink is our new favorite game and that helps with colors, shapes, and numbers (counting), Sorry is good for counting and number recognition.  This is a nonthreatening way for them to learn.

* Counting:  We count a lot, how many red cars will we pass on the way to school? How long does it take Isaiah to brush his teeth? How many Barbies does Ayla have?  I try to make these fun things to do, so to sneak in the learning!

* Read: My son reads the words on the cereal box if I leave it on the table.  As we walk to the park my daughter will ask what the different signs or buildings say. I also like to write them notes in their lunch boxes or I put one on their pillow if I am gone for bedtime.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on April 15, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

