Last Day of School Celebrations

I love traditions and making things special for my kids.  This year to celebrate the last day of school, I have some ideas of how to celebrate the start of summer with them.  Here are some ideas.

* Water balloon fight:  With this I am opting to do a silly string fight instead for a couple of reasons.  One is that my son hates being wet in his clothes, and the second is the weather has been pretty chilly.  My husband and I will pick up our kids and attack them with silly string when we get home!

* Special breakfast/lunch/dinner: Homemade pretzels in the shape of their new grade, summer smoothies, favorite meal, picnic, fondue, etc.

* Make a T-shirt: It could be one for kids to sign at school, a shirt that says “First Grade here I come” or something fun that your child would enjoy.

* Banner: I am making a Pre-k and a K banner for my kids to run through, symbolizing they have completed that grade. I am doing this one, I am sure my son will love breaking through the paper.

* Scavenger Hunt: Have the kids search your neighborhood or just your house for last items.  Last book you read, last pop in the fridge, etc.

* Something Fun: We are going to take our kids to the movie theater to see the new Kung Fu Panda movie since the weather is iffy.  Here are some other ideas:

1. Backyard fun: volleyball, sandplay, relay races, etc.

2. Water: Squirt guns, balloons, sponges, etc.

3. Sundae: Build your own sundae, complete with lots of toppings!

4. Sleepover: The kids have been begging to sleep together so we will allow them to sleep together for the night!

* Don’t forget something special for the teachers on the last day.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on May 24, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

