Welcome to Summer!

Today was our first official day of summer break together.  I wanted to do something special to start it off so I had a few small items waiting for our kids at the breakfast table this morning.  I gave them each a jump rope (Target dollar bin…don’t you love that?), a notebook for writing, and a mad lib book (Clearance at Barnes and Nobles buy 1 get 1!).  I really want to encourage writing this summer since it is our first summer to keep the learning going in between grades and also work on my daughter’s fine motor skills.  Today they made their own list in their notebooks of the summer fun ideas they have.  I was really impressed with their list.  My son included a lot of crafts, which really surprised me, and they both included Dairy Queen and Slushes, not surprising!   My son even kept adding to his throughout the day and asked if he could take his notebook in the car!!  Have fun making learning fun over the summer.

 

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on May 31, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

