Remembering the Lasts

When our kids are young we keep track of everything first.  First smile, step, word, etc.  With my kids in school now I’ve been missing them and thinking about their lasts.  We, as parents, never know it is coming and all the sudden it is gone.  The last time Isaiah gave me a kiss by his own choice (he now hates kisses), the last time Ayla called a wedgie editating (not sure where she got that name), the last time they’ll hug me when I pick them up from school.  It makes me sad as a mom to have these lasts, even though they are good and what I pray will happen.  That is why I am challenged to make the most of each day/opportunity.  Our time with them is so limited.  That is my prayer these days, that God will give me joy in the moments I have with my children and savor them, as I never know when it will be the last.

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on September 6, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

