Walking to School

Now that we live close enough to walk to school I like to make the most of it and encourage learning as we walk.  Here are some things we are doing on our walks.

1. Find as many things as you can that begin with the letter Mm.  Mailbox, maple tree, man, etc.

2. For my nephew (he’s 2) we are working on colors.  Each car/house/etc. we pass we call out the color.

3. I spy is always fun

4. New ways to walk: skip, balance beam (if we’re not running late!), gallop, tip toe. etc.

5. Write the Neighborhood: Give them a clipboard (my kids love them) and have them write the things they see.  You could give direction with this as well such as have them trace words you know they’ll see.

6. Count: How many steps to the next house?  Baby steps?  How many cars will pass us on the way? People?

7. Songs: I admit I got caught singing to my nephew when it was just him and I on the way home from school one afternoon.  I was singing songs and nursery rhymes and a lady pruning her rose bushes smiled (I usually stop if I see people, but she snuck up on me!), I smiled back and when we got home he was asleep!!!  Oh well, I think she enjoyed my singing.

8. Pick up trash: Bring along a bag and pick up litter as you go… we always wear gloves for this!

9. Tell stories about myself when I was in school.  The kids love hearing these, especially when I tell them I got in trouble some…they are shocked!

10.  What I love about you: Try to boost their self esteem and tell them all the things that are great about them before they go to school.

What kind of things do you do on walks?

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on September 12, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

