Fall Break

It couldn’t come fast enough for me, but finally my kids are on Fall Break!  We get a whole week together to play and create fun memories.  Here are some things we are up to.

We started off by me hiding 8 notes around their rooms for them of fun things they can choose from to do this week together.  I designed each note for my kids.  My daughters included things like, bake something sweet together, go ice skating (they still have free passes to go through our library reading program!), explore a new park and visit the zoo.  My son’s were more for him.  Extra Wii time, go out for lunch (since he’s usually in school for lunch), etc.  I told them we have the week to do whatever ones they choose and they don’t have to use them all.  So far we’ve already done 2!

Color and put together a cardboard playhouse.  I got this awhile back for the kids with my 50% off coupon from Michaels.  They get these about once a year and sell out fast.  I snagged on for $7.50 and we’ve played so much with it already.  We had lots of fun coloring it, but playing inside their secret hideout is loads of fun for them as well.

We are blessed to have some friends who have a cabin in the mountains, and they are graciously allowing us to use it for 2 nights this week!  Wahoo!  It is fun to go somewhere else where you cannot do laundry and don’t have to worry about cleaning but it is also free.  We are planning on paddle boating, fishing, playing a lot outside and enjoying time together.

We also went on a hike and went to Alpine slides!  The slides are similar to sledding down a mountain but not on snow.  You race in a track.  It was something new my kids had never done so they really enjoyed it, especially my daughter who thrives on new experiences.  We took a chair lift to the top of the mountain.  As I would expect my son was nervous and didn’t want me to go to fast, my daughter kept wanted to go over and over again.  Great memories!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on October 23, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

