Family Fun Friday-Pumpkins

We had another Family Fun Friday and the theme of course, was pumpkins!  Although we had gone to a pumpkin farm and picked pumpkins, we still hadn’t made the time to carve them yet so here is what we were up to on Friday.

Carving our pumpkins.  Each kid drew what they wanted with permanent marker on their pumpkin and then we cut them out.  We dug out the seeds.  Mostly my husband and I since our children apparently have a phobia of the insides of a pumpkin.

Washed the seeds and baked them.  Oh so yummy!  Maybe because it is only once a year I get to eat these wonderful tasty things, but they were delicious!  We washed them, dried them, sprinkled them with olive oil and salt and then baked them for 15 minutes at 350.  My kids couldn’t get enough.  I cut them off at their third helping!

Hide the pumpkin.  We took turns hiding the mini pumpkin in our house and telling each other hot or cold as we looked for it.

Pumpkin penny game.  The kids got a plastic pumpkin that we took turns throwing pennies into.  My son who is very competitive loved this game.

We also made pumpkin bread.  I forgot to add the eggs…all 12 that were required for my 6 loaves, but thankfully it still turned out!

We played a matching pumpkin game that my kids got through Highlights High Five magazine.  You could make it easily with cardstock.  Just draw two of the following, happy, sad, scary, cat, night pumpkin, etc.

I also had planned for the kids to paint glass jars orange to look like jack-o-lanterns but we ran out of time.

I am loving our Friday traditions of spending time together!

 

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on October 29, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

