Practicing Sight Words

I’ve been doing a few things to help my daughter learn her sight words.  Here are some things you can do around the house as well, they work for colors, numbers, letters, etc.  Here are some of our favorites.

* I put them on the bathroom mirror with sticky notes and she reads them to me every morning and evening while brushing her teeth.  It makes it super easy to switch them as well.

* We did a scavenger hunt for them.  I wrote them on some fancy paper and had her hunt our house for them and read them to me.

* Make a homemade die by covering an old one (or use a box as jumbo die) with sight words.  Have her roll, then read and make it into a sentence.

* You can make sight word tattoos out of ABC stamps!

* I also like to point them out when we are reading books together.

* Pretend the carpet is a sea of worms and she has to cross on the sight word rocks, stepping only on words she knows… preparing this for this week.

* We keep a little notebook in her cup holder of her car seat so anytime we have a couple extra minutes in the car she can read them to me.  Just not while driving, since she gets car sick!

* Shaving cream writing is always fun.

* Write them in a secret message.  Write on white paper the words in white crayon.  Have her use water colors to see the words and read them.

I love making learning fun!

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on January 4, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

