Family Fun Friday- Popcorn

January 19th was national popcorn day, who knew?  I LOVE popcorn!  I am so thankful I have passed my love for this along to my kids.  Tonight we will be doing many activities involving this yummy snack!  Here is a look.

* We are going to make popcorn in a bag, saw it on pinterest and love the idea.  Here is the link http://www.squawkfox.com/2010/07/27/popcorn-recipe-gourmet-popcorn/.

I actually wouldn't do this again. About half the popcorn popped, some burned, and no oil so it was really dry!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

* We are going to use that popcorn to make a popcorn cake, another pinterest idea.  Here is the link http://cookiesandcups.com/popcorn-cake/

* We are going to sample popcorn with different toppings.  Carmel, butter, plain, salt, cheese, etc. (Shocker we prefer butter and salt!)

* We are going to be popcorn, think jumping and moving…getting lots of energy out!

* We will use a straw and race popcorn off the table by blowing them to the finish line.

This was really fun, both my kids loved getting to blow it across the table!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

* We will use it for art.  I am planning on letting them self direct this one.  I will put out string, paper, glue, glitter, etc, and let them make popcorn art.

We made a popcorn tree by drawing it and then colorig the popcorn like apple blossoms!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

* We will also make Kool Aid popcorn here is the link http://tastykitchen.com/recipes/desserts/kool-aid-popcorn/

* We will end with movie and popcorn!  Yum!

What do you like to do with your family on the weekends?

About mochellysue

I am former kindergarten teacher now a stay at home mom of two wonderful kids! My husband and I have been married for almost ten great years.

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

